Crushed
2003-10-19 11:16 p.m.

I'm having one of those days when my life seems like a huge morass of burdensome tasks. What's worse, those for whom I toil seem to think that verbal abuse will make me work harder.

Yeah, you know who you are.

This week at school will be a giant CF due to Parents' Day, a good idea ruined by autocratic, dictatorial posturing by some folks on a piddly little committee.

Later this week, we have our second meeting about the pilot program for performance-based compensation, AKA merit pay, which our school will be "piloting." This means we'll get real evaluations and real PBC crap to do, but we'll be paid in play money. That's right, folks: more work, no more money.

Then I get to start calculating grades. If the reception the report cards get is anything like the snotstorm that hit with Progress Reports, my mornings will be spent in conferences until next July.

Add the crushing weight of having ALL domestic responsibilities foisted on me AGAIN, and you get a very, very unhappy EduCait.

You really don't want to get in my way this week. Grrrr.

Off to write $#@^%*+ lesson plans. $#@^!

previous - next




Diaryland