Oh, heck.
2003-08-30 1:02 p.m.

My carefully planned trip to my aunt's funeral on Thursday was, er, interesting.

I had the whole day off, but the SAmurai works for a stupid bonehead and couldn't leave until 2. I met him at my brother's; Kim and Alex were staying home, and Kim watched Casey all day. Old doggie and Sarah the Chocolate Moose Doggie had fun; Sarah orbited Casey, he growled. Samurai changed clothes, and off we went.

Now, my folks and brother had left at 1:30. We left at 3. Folks got there a half hour before us. (They got lost.) WTF?

Funeral was nice, mostly because my remaining aunt made huge collages of photos of Aunt Irene in happier days. Lots of good memories. It was fun identifying folks in pictures for the little second cousins.

After dinner, we were back on the road around 11. Pulled into brother's by 2:30. Picked up Casey and the Samurai's van. Got cussed out in Doglish ALL the way home. You left me! That puppy pissed me off! Where were you? Scratch my ears, I don't care if you're driving.

Friday was interesting; preparing for first day of school (next Tuesday) on two hours of sleep, then babysitting Alex. Yawn.

Today, the whole Fam Damily comes here for dinner. Gotta clean. Somewhat hampered by 98 lb. shadow.(Casey the Klingon.)

B'bear, tell me how this lummox of yours manages to mince daintily along the curb to avoid getting his paws wet. I'm also wondering why he loves to pace the length of our speed bumps, like he's on a balance beam.

What a silly animal.

Happy Birthdays to Puckeater and Smatchet! The world is a gooder place with you guys in it.

previous - next




Diaryland