Finnr
2003-02-28 2:23 p.m.

Can't focus today. I keep thinking about Finnr.

See, last night, I got a cryptic e-mail, attachments stripped, with Finnr's passing in the subject line. Since it was from the recently-reported-dead Byrum, I thought it might be a joke. Then I read Balynar's diary, and Colin's, and Byrum's. I'm afraid I just sat in front of my computer, whimpering,"No!"

I saw Finnr at Ice Castle, and he teased me about being forty. We giggled over being middle-aged, and surmised that we'd have many more decades of silliness ahead of us. He tried, as always, to entice me with all the cool Japanese wares he had with him. (I have purchased many neat-o things from Finnr, usually with the Samurai in mind.) I told him I really wanted to take his next Manx Culture class, too.

Now he's gone. I am numb with shock.

I don't have words enough to fill the hole in my heart. I can't adequately describe how sweet, generous, clever, and wise Finnr was.I'll try to do things that would have pleased him...making more period garb, doing more shiny goldwork emboidery, helping new folks who want to learn. I won't let his light die.

I know he's safe now, but I will miss him for a long, long, long time.

previous - next




Diaryland