Testing Sucks
2002-04-24 9:54 p.m.

Someone stop me. I'm gonna blow.

See, my school system has this control freak superintendent. He refers to us as "labor" and wanted to add five days to our contract year (no extra money, mind you) for "testing."

We already spend seven days doing SOL tests now. What other testing would we do, we asked?

SOL pretests, says he. We dutifully worked on committees to write said pretests. Meanwhile, the School Board cuts the extra days to three.

Sounds good, right?

Unfortunately, the pretest ends up taking four days to administer, instead of the predicted two. It takes us until November to get the things scored, because the software to run the scoring doohickey isn't here until then. Some pretest.

In the fall, we were told that the SOL itself would be the posttest.

Now, we're sent a posttest and told we MUST give it on such-and-so date.We MUST report the scores to a nice overworked lady in admin. Why?

We're told the scores are "for teacher use." And we can't score the blasted things until June, anyway.

The test itself had three questions with no possible correct answer, and a gramatically incorrect writing prompt.

I will have wasted a total of seven instructional days on this by the end of the year.

I am actually being excruciatingly polite in voicing my frustration here, because if I said what I REALLY think, I'd probably get fired by Mr. Control-o.

After all, I'm just labor.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

previous - next




Diaryland