Fear My DNC Powers!
2006-05-31 11:53 p.m.

Yesterday we finally got Dix Commumblications out here to check our crappy internet connection. Turns out we just needed some "signal amplification." (huh?) Their "On time!" boast got turned on its ear when our poor Dix dude was an hour and a half late for his service window. (They triple-booked him.) He fixed the internet...but somehow disconnected our cable TV.

Oh, my.

The Samurai with no TV was a hurtin' pup.

So today, the same poor dude was back out here, fixin' what he busted. All better now.

In other news, we got another call from the Satellite Dish Network guys in Bangalore. This would be, like, number ten. How do I know they're in Bangalore? I asked.

Tonight, they started by asking for the Samurai. I told them I was Mrs. Samurai, and they got very chirpy. Tonight's dude actually spoke excellent British-accented English. I complimented him on it, and he told me he'd lived in the UK for five years. Lovely chap.

I told him I didn't really need a sodomite these aardvark--err, satellite dish network. Then I dropped the bomb.

"Um, you do realize we're on the Do Not Call list, don't you?" I purred sweetly.

"What? WHAT? OHmy Gawad, you are on the not-calling leest! Oh, my goodness! I am sorry to be going now!" Chappie babbled. He was clearly panicked. "Let me checking my database--oh my goodnesses, you are there right in front of me, I am so sorry, please ma'am be having a good day ma'am GOODBYE!"

Click. No more Satellite Dish guys. Such extreme fear of the Do Not Call registry--I didn't even have to say I'd report them. It was like telemarketer Kryptonite.

I'm gonna miss those guys in Bangalore. They were very nice, and pretty entertaining.

previous - next




Diaryland