Comix Redux
2002-07-19 1:19 a.m.

Gosh, I love comics.

When the Minivan Samurai and I were newlyweds (17 years ago, when Colin and Liam wre first graders, or something) we had just graduated from Tech, and spent our first married summer in Blacksburg, with no money for road trips. No cable TV. No computer, no Internet, no e-mail. Everyone had gone home for the summer.

We saw every movie that came to town (three theaters, six screens) at least twice.

We watched LOTS of Star Trek reruns. We won lots of imaginary money on Jeopardy.

We read comics!

I have always loved comic books. Growing up, I wanted to be Batgirl. Not Barbie-she was a wuss. I wanted to ride a motorcycle and clobber bad guys.

As a newlywed, in 1985, I fell into the middle of the comix renaissance. I read Moonshadow (J.M. DeMatteis' masterpiece in watercolor), Concrete, Flaming Carrot, Badger (Wisconsin's only super hero), Mage (with Grendel backup stories), X-Men, and even DC's Crisis on Infinite Earths. We cruised through Art Adams' first Longshot series, the Dark Knight, and the early Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

Tuesday, we went to a comic shop for the first time in ages, and bought ourselves a stack of goodies. I feel like I'm 22 again! (Well, as long as I stay away from mirrors and don't try to get up too fast.) I'm definitely loving Ultimate Spider-man,Hero Bear and the Kid, Decoy, and the second round of Mage was wonderful. I'm not sure about the welter of X-Men titles; we're trying to figure out what we like.

Any suggestions?

On the Headbone: Peanut Butter Jelly Time, the Buckwheat Boys. Liam, you are a mind control maestro.

Book of the moment: Smoke and Mirrors, Neil Gaiman. Wow.

previous - next




Diaryland