Marital Bliss
2001-12-02 7:17 p.m.

I've had a chance to get over my initial shyness about Diaryland. I am sometimes overcome when I'm faced with the prospect of talking to a new group of people (my pals are all rolling in the floor now), but my natural garrulousness has taken over.

About me-I'm a middle-aged, middle school English teacher. I'm also a longtime SCA member. For fun, I read, sew, bead anything that isn't moving, cook, teach self-defense classes for women, and do yoga. I am rarely still or quiet, so the yoga is a definite challenge.

That'll do for now. You'll find out the rest as we go.

Yesterday, I spent six hours in a small room filled with English teachers. We were all there for a class on Japanese Literature, taught by a lovely Japanese lady who has the distinction of being the first Japanese feminist I've ever met. (I know LOTS of Japanese ladies, so this is pretty weird.)Her class fascinated me, although some of the women there seemed truly bored. The big shock came during a discussion of The Tale of Genji. Our professor made the observation that Japanese men were big babies. I was nodding sagely, having dealt with one Japanese homestay who *expected* me to run his bathwater for him. His wife did it at home; why wouldn't I do it? He never did figure out why I laughed at him.

Anyhow, I was amazed by the reaction of my classmates." American men are babies, too!" they snarled. "Selfish ones! We'd divorce 'em all, if we didn't have kids to think about."

I ventured that, while my hubby can be annoying, I stay with him because I adore him. Didn't they love their husbands?

They LAUGHED at me. Some said they envied me, some said I was nuts or delusional, but no one agreed with me. I was horrified.

Frank (my husband) can do an annoyingly accurate impersonation of a sea cucumber sometimes, but he's the only person who really understands me. He laughs at my jokes, he's fun to talk to, and he can make me feel like the luckiest woman alive. If he dies before me, or leaves me for some young chippie, don't expect me to remarry. There are maybe five other men in the world (now you're wondering who they are, I can hear you!) who are even half as attractive to me, but most of them are married to women I love, or otherwise unavailable. Just as well, because any of them would make me crazy, by virtue of not being my sweet Frank. He's a tough act to follow.

Today's book recommendation: Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key by Jack Gantos

Today's Song du Jour:In These Shoes? by Kirsty MacColl

previous - next




Diaryland